Hosted by the Manchester School of Architecture, MSA Thursdays consolidates a range of school lecture programmes into a collective and co-ordinated contribution to the life of the school.

Throughout the teaching year, an ecosystem of events connects students to people, ideas, and debates that support engagement with key issues. MSA Thursdays events are always held on Thursdays from 5.15pm to 6.30pm either in person or on Zoom.

In the 2021-2022 academic year, MSA Thursdays ran 4 event formats – Inspirations (sponsored by Foster + Partners), Provocations, Atelier & Programme Nights, and Salons. A total of 22 events were held, with over 30 invited guest speakers delivering talks across the year – ranging from renowned practising architects to influential thinkers and innovators in theory, philosophy and sustainability. MSSA Chair Calin-Bogdan Maier acted as Student Discussant for the events, and all posters were developed by Benedetta Rizzo.

MSA Thursdays 2012-22 Staff Team: Dr. Johnathan Djabarouti, Anna Gidman, and Kasia Nawratek. With support from the 2021-22 MSA Thursdays Student GTA Team: Calin-Bogdan Maier and Benedetta Rizzo.

The MSA Thursdays guests for 2021-2022 were: Angus Campbell (Foster + Partners), Malcolm Miles (writer & researcher), Riccardo Marini (Marini-Urbanismo), Marco Casagrande (Casagrande Laboratory), Simon Sturgis (Targeting Zero), Gianni Botsford (Gianni Botsford Architects), Stephen Hodder (Hodder + Partners), Edward Hollis (University of Edinburgh), Dave Lynch (artist & director), Morag Rose (University of Liverpool), Paul Williams (Stanton Williams), Kate White (Kate White Architects), Philip Etchells (OMI), Les Postawa (Les Postawa Associates), Paco Mejias (University of Suffolk), Robert Mantho (Glasgow School of Art), Lucy Marshall (CW Studio), Ian Miller (Salford Archaeology), Pablo Iglesias (Grated Apple), Robert McGinnes (Hive Architects), Jen Clarke (Gray’s School of Art), Jon Berry (Tyler Grange), Anna Schabel (Wilton Studio), Musa Garba, edv3ctor, Joe Gilmore (University of Leeds), Paul Emery (Seen), Ryoko Akama (Melange Edition), SDEM, Tumpa Husna Yasmin Fellows (Our Building Design), Hazel Rounding (Shedkm), Astrid Smitham (Apparata), Nicholas Lobo Brennan (Apparata).

Visit for more information on event formats, upcoming talks and recordings of past events.